This content is being transitioned into our department's parent site - following Feb 2020 Machinery of Government changes. In the meantime, you can access climate change content:

Can't find something? Tell us using the website feedback form

The independent Emissions Reduction Assurance Committee

The Emissions Reduction Assurance Committee is an independent, expert committee established under the Carbon Credits (Carbon Farming Initiative) Act 2011 which assesses whether methodology determinations (methods) meet the requirements of the Emissions Reduction Fund. The Committee helps ensure the ongoing integrity of methods under the Fund, by:

  • Advising the Minister on whether to make, vary or revoke a method with regard to its compliance with the offsets integrity standards. These are set out in the Carbon Credits (Carbon Farming Initiative) Act 2011.
  • Monitoring the compliance of methods with the offsets integrity standards.
  • Undertaking periodic and crediting period extension reviews of methods determinations, including public consultation.
  • Advising the Minister and Secretary in relation to the outcomes of reviews of methodology determinations and any related public consultation.

Further information on the Committee's functions are set out in the Carbon Credits (Carbon Farming Initiative) Act 2011.

In December 2017 the Climate Change Authority reviewed the operation of the Carbon Credits (Carbon Farming Initiative) Act 2011. The independent Authority found the Fund is performing well and outlined a number of detailed and technical recommendations to further improve its operations.

As a result of the review, the Emissions Reduction Assurance Committee has developed guidance for proponents to clarify how it interprets the Emissions Reduction Fund's offsets integrity standards in its deliberations.

The published guidance is intended to assist Fund project proponents only and is not a legal instrument. It is intended that the guidance will be updated as required.

Committee members

Dr Beverley Henry (Interim Chair)

Photo of Beverly Henry

Dr Beverley Henry has worked in land sector greenhouse gas accounting and climate change research for over 20 years. She is an Adjunct Associate Professor at Queensland University of Technology and a Consultant. She has experience across academic, government and industry research, development and extension, focusing on greenhouse gas mitigation and climate adaptation particularly for livestock production and natural resource management. Beverley has contributed to ERF method technical working groups on livestock and soil carbon and works with international climate change and agricultural organisations, including United Nations Food and Agricultural Organisation, International Standards Organisation and International Wool Textile Organisation.

Mr Paul Graham (CSIRO representative)

Photo of Paul Graham

Paul Graham is Chief Economist at CSIRO Energy Flagship. In this role he is responsible for advice on the global and national economic context relevant for the energy sector, setting the strategic direction for economic research and leading major projects. Mr Graham has been with CSIRO for 15 years and prior to that was a senior research officer at the Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics. He has worked with a huge range of Australia's leading energy, resource and transport companies, major NGOs and key federal and state government departments. He has also been a key contributor to each of the modelling teams assembled for the various state and federal carbon policy analyses.

Mr David Byers

Photo of Mr David Byers

Mr David Byers is Chief Executive of CO2CRC, Australia’s leading carbon capture utilisation and storage research organisation. David has more than 30 years’ experience across the oil, gas and minerals industries, in Australia and overseas. He has worked in CEO and senior leadership roles in commercial and not for profit organisations.

Some highlights in David’s career include his roles as Interim CEO with the Minerals Council of Australia (MCA) prior to joining CO2CRC in July 2018, Vice President Government Relations and Public Policy for BHP, four years as CEO of the Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association (APPEA), three years as Chief Executive of CEDA (Committee for Economic Development of Australia), and 17 years working in Melbourne, Singapore and Dallas for ExxonMobil.

Ms Margie Thomson

Photo of Ms Margie Thomson

Ms Margie Thomson is the Chief Executive Officer of the Cement Industry Federation. With postgraduate qualifications in economics and agricultural economics, Margie has extensive management experience in policy and program development, implementation and advocacy, both in Australia and internationally. Margie has worked for a wide range of organisations including the Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation and the National Farmers' Federation and has served on numerous Boards and Advisory Councils. Margie has a Bachelor of Agricultural Economics (University of Sydney) and a Master of Economics from the University of New England.

Chris Johnston (Departmental representative)

Photo of Chris Johnston

Mr Chris Johnston is the Assistant Secretary of the Climate Change Policy Branch in the Department of the Environment and Energy. His duties in this role include responsibility for climate change science and adaptation policy, emissions projections and the long term emissions reduction strategy. He has held a number of senior positions across the Department of the Environment and Energy and the Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, including renewable energy, heritage, budget strategy and communications. He has also worked on climate change, environment and energy policy in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Mick Keogh

Photo of Mick Keogh

Mr Keogh has a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science in Wool and Pastoral Sciences from the University of New South Wales. He researched and authored numerous papers and reports on issues impacting the agricultural sector with Australia and internationally in his role as Executive Director of the Australian Farm Institute from 2004-2018, including many dealing with agriculture-sector emissions and sequestration and abatement policies. Mr Keogh was also been Chairman of the National Rural Advisory Council from 2012-2015, was previously a member of the CSIRO Sustainable Agriculture Flagship Advisory Committee, and since June 2018 has been a Commissioner and Deputy Chairman of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.

Emissions Reduction Assurance Committee Secretariat

The Emissions Reduction Assurance Committee (ERAC) Secretariat provides administrative support for the ongoing functions of the ERAC. The Secretariat is also the point of contact for stakeholders in their dealings with the ERAC.

ERAC enquiries should be directed to the Secretariat at: